3xS – Finished!

29 01 2015

I’m sort of on a roll!

I finished 3xS (Stars, Squares, and Scraps)!

3xS Completed Quilt Front

I’m enjoying the way some of the squares and HSTs disappear into the backing fabric. There’s unexpected depth to the pattern because of that.

I used Sandi’s mid-arm frame again. As I’ve said previously, I’ve given up on the Janome, and after quilting this top, given up on the Little Gracie II frame entirely. It’s just too limited for what I want to do, for what I’m capable of doing.

3xS Quilting Detail

Anyway, the details! The entire thing was quilted on Saturday, the 24th. I used a pale aqua-ish thread in the top, and the same light grey Bottom Line in the bobbin. Rather than do an all-over meander again, I got brave decided to play a little. This time, I did three leafed clover shapes in varying sizes. Getting braver yet, I set myself a challenge to echo each of the leaves in one of the clovers, and discovered I could do it with a decent amount of accuracy. I then randomly spaced the echoed clovers through the quilting.

I wasn’t sure how the quilting would show up after washing – I experimented and used a wool batting in this quilt. I’d bought the wool batting with the intention of hand-quilting a different project. However, since this was my January goal for finishes, I figured I ought to just use the wool rather than buying more batting. This particular batting required quilting in every four inches – I didn’t see that as a problem, though I expected this top to take me quite a while to finish quilting.

3xS Completed Quilt Back

I can’t tell you what any of the prints in the backing are – I didn’t save the selvage for the lovely print on the left. The purple paisley was a scrap cut from Fat Quarter Shop. The purple floral print was something from Joann’s, and the smallest cut of fabric in the backing was something I bought ages ago and cut the selvage off.

To give this a really strong finish, I used up a yard(ish) of a fabric that had been in my stash for ages. I cut 3″ wide strips, and made sure I left half an inch of batting all around the top’s edges when I trimmed down the batting and backing after quilting. As a result, I’ve got a nice wide, and full, binding on this top.

Linking to A Lovely Year of Finishes, for my January finish!

A Lovely Year of Finishes

Also marking this for the 2015 Finish Along! My list of goals is here!

2015 FAL at On the Windy Side
Also linking to Crazy Mom Quilts for Finish It Up Friday and Devoted Quilter for Thank Goodness It’s Finished Friday.

Actions

Information

12 responses

29 01 2015
Carla

Not sure what the S is, but I like this : )

29 01 2015
Grey Cat Quilts

🙂 3xS is my shorthand for the name for this quilt: Stars, Squares and Scraps. It was the only thing I could think of, so I’m leaving it, lol.

30 01 2015
clumsykristel

Looks fantastic .. I love scrap quilts. Love the clover quilting – looks fun!

I don’t live very close to any of the shops here that rent time on their longarm machines, but someday I’d really like to try one out.

31 01 2015
Grey Cat Quilts

I’m in love with machine quilting on a frame! I keep trying FMQ on my domestic, but it’s not a fan. Eventually, I might master it, or I might just figure out a way to get at least a mid-arm machine into my home.

31 01 2015
Lynette

That’s a great pattern for scrap use! Love the effect. Renting time on a longarm isn’t feasible for me, either, so I’m always jealous of those who can. ;D

31 01 2015
Grey Cat Quilts

Unfortunately, it’s not feasible for me to rent time on a longarm either. I’m just lucky to have a friend who doesn’t object to me using her mid-arm frame. If it weren’t for that, all of my projects would stop at the top phase and go no further.

31 01 2015
Leanne Parsons

What a great use of scraps! It makes you want to move in close and check out each individual piece. Thanks for linking to TGIFF!

31 01 2015
Grey Cat Quilts

I love scrappy quilts! I’ve got another one planned – I still have plenty of scraps to use.

1 02 2015
Mona's Creativity

Lovely scrap quilt, with depth! Well done!

2 02 2015
Grey Cat Quilts

Thanks so much! I had a lot of fun with this quilt.

14 04 2015
shecanquilt

This is a beautiful quilt, I too love how some of the pattern blends into your background. Also your quilting is a nice compliment to the design.

14 04 2015
Grey Cat Quilts

Thank you! I wasn’t sure at all how this would work out, but I’m really happy.

Leave a comment