Embers – Finished!

28 02 2015

Embers - Drying

I spent Sunday the 15th quilting up the Embers top at Sandi’s. I’m mostly pleased – the batting proved problematic, and I’m not thrilled, but resolving it would be more work than I want…

I used Hobbs Heirloom 80/20 Black Batting for this top, as I was concerned about bearding through the Kona coal background. One of the first things I noticed about this batting was that it was very clingy. Which wasn’t a problem for the first half of the quilting process…

Then I realized that the batting was pulling more of the backing fabric off the roll than needed. I ended up having to release everything from the bottom rollers and then re-roll the backing fabric to get proper tension again. I thought I managed to avoid any pleats, but I was so, so wrong.

AFTER getting the thing off the frame and back home, I discovered that about two inches of backing fabric had pleated, pretty much in the middle of the quilt.

*sigh*

With the entire thing quilted, I elected to simply call it a learning experience, and attached the binding. I finishing binding the thing three days ago, but finally had a chance to wash it this morning. Very necessary, as the batting is fairly stiff.

It doesn’t seem as if the washer in the building laundry is working properly… The thing came out soaking wet, so I suspect the spin cycle didn’t run for its full time, or didn’t run at all. An hour in the dryer left the quilt still wet, so now it’s hanging over the shower rod in the bathroom until I’m done working today, and can run it through the dryer again.

Proper photos of it tomorrow, I promise!

Linking to a Lovely Year of Finishes, for February!

A Lovely Year of Finishes

Also tracking this for the 2015 Finish Along. This makes three of my five goals for the quarter completed!

2015 FAL at On the Windy Side

Actions

Information

6 responses

28 02 2015
clumsykristel

It looks gorgeous!

Too bad about the pleating, but at least it’s on the back where you won’t see it if it’s on a bed, I suppose.

28 02 2015
Grey Cat Quilts

I’m just happy that it’s not as bad as it could have been. And it’s done!

28 02 2015
Aileen

Soooo frustrating. But the quilt looks absolutely beautiful!

28 02 2015
Grey Cat Quilts

I’m glad that it’s done! And it’s still one of my favorite tops.

14 04 2015
shecanquilt

Your quilt is beautiful, but the quilting sure sounds like challenge.

14 04 2015
Grey Cat Quilts

Quilting this, once I got into the swing of things was actually done with minimal headache! I’m really enjoying having access to a mid-arm machine.

Leave a comment