365 Challenge Quilt Sampler – Week 03

20 01 2016

Another week, another set of blocks:

365 Challenge Quilt Sampler Week 03
15. Triple Rail, 16. Maggie’s Mystery, 17. Thrifty, 18. Double Four Patch,
19. Half Square Triangle, 20. Triangle Combination, 21. Broken Wheel

I’m still having a lot of fun playing in my scrap bins, though I am going to have to start pulling from my stash soon in order to supplement. I’m running short of black and grey scraps – which, considering what I sew with, shouldn’t be happening, but that’s all right. It’s an excuse to cut into yardage (not that I need one).

I did end up doing some extra work, and re-made two of the blocks. I just didn’t like the way my first attempts turned out, and I had the extra time, because the last few blocks were very simple.

For anyone working on these blocks with me, I highly encourage you to starch your fabrics. I’m even hitting the completed blocks with another blast of starch. It’s extremely helpful for these small blocks. Also – less fraying of the blocks, so they’ll be nice and crisp when I get ready to sew them together.

I’m still loving the process of putting these blocks together, and am looking forward to being able to start assembly.

Linking up to WIP Wednesday. Also linking to Let’s Bee Social.


Actions

Information

7 responses

21 01 2016
Kate Life in PIeces

Beautiful blocks. I like all the gray and black with just a touch of color. It’s going to be a gorgeous quilt.

21 01 2016
Grey Cat Quilts

I love working with black and grey – I can’t wait to see how this all comes together in the end.

21 01 2016
Laura

NIce blocks! I agree with you about starch.

22 01 2016
Grey Cat Quilts

I only started starching my fabric in the last year, but I’m a total convert!

24 01 2016
Catherine

Your blocks are lovely.

25 01 2016
Grey Cat Quilts

Thank you! I’m really enjoying the process of picking through my scraps and making them.

8 02 2016
Grey Cat Quilts

Thank you! I love making these blocks as pretty as I can.

Leave a comment