Quilted Goodness

18 05 2014

I woke up this morning, and I was raring to go. The alarm went off at 7:00 AM. By 7:30, I was sitting at the sewing machine, pedal to the floor.

It took five hours of straight line stitching, but by 2:00 PM, I had a completely quilted top:

Patchwork Star - Quilted

I used my walking foot, marching the edge of the foot along the seams. The thread is a lovely 100% cotton, variegated thread that runs from dark red to pastel pink. I thought it was a good addition to this quilt. I really like the contrast of the straight line quilting against the soft edges of the large scale print.

Patchwork Star - Quilting Back

I really love the way the quilting looks on the backside of the quilt. I do find myself wishing I’d had more of the cream and pink print to use for the backing, as the quilting is so striking against it. Ah, well, I used up three pieces of yardage that I had absolutely no plan for. I’ll take that as a win.

All that’s left to do is to make the binding and add it. I grabbed a stack of red prints – for some reason I’m certain it has to be a red binding – and draped them against the top:

Testing Binding Fabrics

I think the middle print of the five is my winner for the binding. If I’m lucky, making the binding will use up all I have of that print. Then, I’ll have used up four prints, and a bunch of scraps. So far, I’ve used four and a half yards, not including the scraps.

But, for now, I’m off to go see Godzilla. When I get back tonight, I’ll have make up the binding, and then I can finish this quilt up while going to and from work the next couple of days.


Actions

Information

3 responses

18 05 2014
mosaicthinking

Looks great – can you remind us where the design comes from, please. I’m sure I’ve seen it before … haven’t I?

18 05 2014
Grey Cat Quilts

This is a spin on the Made in Cherry pattern, but Sarah Fielke. It’s available at http://www.lecien.co.jp/en/hobby/patterns/img/st_ives.pdf

27 05 2014
mosaicthinking

Thanks – another one for the ideas folder. Wish I had the time to make it immediately.

Leave a comment